Squash It!

 

Dear hamstrings, quads, glutes, calves and right bicep/tricep/delt/lat/forearm:

I apologize for the pain that I put you through this past Saturday.  Little did I know, that my first squash lesson would be THAT intense…I get the point, it’s Wednesday – kindly all now please stop hurting so that I can resume back to my normal life?

Best, M.

…I consider myself fairly healthy and in good shape…hell, I STARTED THE FIT POST! However, 45 minutes on the squash court showed me what was up.  Talk about an incredible workout – intense all body muscle exertion, wicked (I feel like this word is appropriate here for some reason) bouts of sweating and enough entertainment and strategy to hold my attention.  Although I’m pretty confident that just about anyone could successfully get through a game of squash, it really does seem to require a specific skill set in order to throw down a tough match: eye-hand-coordination/swift feet/strategic ball placement – among others.  Thanks to my fresh new tennis whites, which I purchased just for the occasion (obviously), I felt like a pro playing despite the one…two…ok, several times that I missed the ball.

bottom line: plan your first squash lesson just before a week that you require little to no movement of your body.

~ by Maggie on October 13, 2010.

One Response to “Squash It!”

  1. Lol. Love squash. Best one on one cardio out there next to boxing. Take the time to warm up and stretch before and after. Your body will thank you. Proceed w/caution 🙂

Leave a comment