Fast Healthy Food For Delayed Stressful Flights

I hate to fly…no, I’m not someone who freaks at the thought of being a few thousand miles in the air and I don’t even mind ponying up the money for a ticket…my hatred for traveling the “friendly skies” stems from the lack of reliability of air travel (please bear with me while I get this rant off my chest).  I can’t stand the countless hours of delays…at best…or in many cases, cancelled flights and unhelpful booking agents (WHERE do they fine these people?!).  Thankfully, airport food has vastly improved in the past few years – making the 4 hour delay in JFK or any other major airport slighty bearable and not nearly as caloric.

This past week during my Christmas travels, I stopped by Cibo Express Market in Terminal 5 (JetBlue’s Jetson-esque new terminal space).  Think of it as a mini airport Whole Foods, with an additional price hike to remind you that your other options include ChexMix from Hudson Newstand or two-day old rubbery pizza across the way.

Look for the blue CIBO sign to purchase all natural crackers, Greek yogurt, trail mix, Smart Water, fresh pressed juices, vegetarian and vegan sandwiches, protein bars and other corner store style gourmet treats.  The lines are fast and I love a mini Fage Total 0% yogurt with a handful of low sodium trail mix (ok, who am I kidding… toss in a Toblerone Swiss chocolate bar to complete my order).  Even better, I’ll add a can of tomato juice to help reduce swelling from lack of circulation while up in the air – that is if my plane ever takes off…

~ by Maggie on December 27, 2009.

Leave a comment