Spring Street Au Naturale

Healthy. Vegan. Vegetarian. Fresh. Natural. Organic: my head is ringing with dollar signs just writing out these words…unfortunately, fresh wholesome grub is often expensive and overpriced.

A friend just introduced me to Spring Street Natural for affordable healthy eating.  This SoHo…or is it considered NoLita…(non numbered streets still confuse me) neighborhood joint focuses on offering low-key whole natural foods that are minimally processed.  Inside it resembles more of an old school ale house rather than a hippie dippie spot for free-range chicken.  I had a hard time deciding between the Stuffed Acorn Squash Over Spinach ($15) or the South Western Grilled Organic Chicken Salad ($13.50).  In the end, the dried cranberries, roasted corn and tamari roasted almonds with crumbled gorgonzola sold me…South Western all the way.  By the way, the portions are HUGE (see above – I sub tofu for chicken) – get the dressing on the side so you have a better chance of salvaging leftover lettuce for the next day (not to mention you’ll use less).

~ by Maggie on December 8, 2009.

Leave a comment